Barbeque Jerk Pork Tenderloin



I’ve been going back and forth trying to decide if I should say that this came from a recipe or is merely inspired by a recipe as I’ve made enough tweaks to it I don’t think it is quite fair to say that it is the recipe. The basis for the recipe came from the Summer ’14 issue of Kraft Food & Family magazine with it being called Barbeque Jerk Pork Medallions. The idea was making a bbq sauce (using a bottled bbq sauce as a base) and then grilling the pork medallions. 

Well, the weather just wasn’t quite cooperating to let me grill so I decided to just bake the tenderloin. Then, I found out that I didn’t have any “regular” bbq sauce to use as the base and I didn’t think what I had was going to work (or taste right) in making the jerk bbq sauce. That resulted in my decision to make my own BBQ sauce and then add the other ingredients to finish it out. I did some searches for a ketchup/brown sugar BBQ sauce as that felt like the right base to start with. It took quite awhile to find something that wasn’t overly complicated, contained lots of ingredients or took forever to make. 

In the end I settled on this recipe for a “basic” BBQ sauce. However, I didn’t make it exactly as it was written. I left out the chili powder, celery seed and hot sauce since I was adding other things. I also chose to make 1 1/2 times the recipe as I was trying to get the approximate quantities from the original recipe. At the time that was a great idea but in the end, I now have a lot of leftover bbq sauce that I have to find a use for. It did produce a pretty tasty bbq sauce that wasn’t too spicy. I had been a little concerned about that as I usually try to skip the spicy stuff for the benefit of the rest of the family. I didn’t cut the cayenne pepper down from 1/2 teaspoon to 1/8 teaspoon. 

In the end this turned out great. It would have been nice to grill it but baking the tenderloin worked just fine and actually came out pretty tender and juicy. 

Here is the recipe as written in the magazine. 

2/3 cup Kraft Original BBQ Sauce

1/4 cup seedless raspberry jam

1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1/4 teaspoon ground allspice

1/4 teaspoon ground cloves

1 pork tenderloin (about 1 1/2 lbs), sliced into medallions

Mix all ingredients (except meat) until well blended. Reserve half the BBQ sauce. Grill pork medallions until done, 4-6 minutes per side brushing with the BBQ sauce. Serve with the reserved sauce.

This entry was posted in Pork and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

