Grapefruit Buttermilk Doughnuts with Candied Zest



Finding this recipe was a complete accident but boy am I glad I found it. I was flipping through a Country Living magazine helping one of my daughters look for words/pictures that began with certain letters when I stumbled across it. It was unique enough that I had to try it. Plus, it gave me an excuse to buy some doughnut pans. 

These were fairly simple to put together although there are a few steps. The benefit is that you can get the doughnut itself put together and in the oven while making the rest of it. 

I changed nothing in the recipe although I tried to get more zest for the topping than it called for. I’m not sure how wide the zest was that they used but my zester creates very narrow strips so I probably made 16 4″ strips of zest. And it still wasn’t really enough. Next time I might just zest the whole second grapefruit and go from there. I also might make the glaze a little thicker next time. There was the right amount of glaze for the number of doughnuts (turning the doughnuts upside down and dipping them in the glaze but it was pretty runny. As you can see in the picture, it ran off of the doughnuts, creating more of a sheen on top than really being a glaze. Definitely didn’t look like the picture in the magazine. 

And there will be a next time for making these. They were a lot better than you might think with the grapefruit flavor providing the right amount of sweet and tartness. Plus, I think I only got to eat one of the 12. 

Oh, and definitely spray the pans with nonstick spray. I had three holes filled before I realized that I needed to spray them. Those three were the hardest to get out once they were baked. 

Recipe taken from the February 2014 Country Living magazine

2 cups all purpose flour

2 cups granulated sugar, divided

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon ground ginger

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 1/4 cup buttermilk

1 large egg

2 tablespoons canola oil

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Zest of one large grapefruit plus 4 two inch long strips of zest from another grapefruit (or more)

1 cup confectioners (powdered) sugar

3 tablespoons grapefruit juice

3 tablespoons water

Coat two six-cavity doughnut pans with cooking spray. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. 

Meanwhile, in a large bowl, combine flour, 1 1/2 cups sugar, baking powder, ginger and salt. Mix well. In a separate bowl, whisk buttermilk, egg, oil, vanilla and zest of one grapefruit. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and mix well. Spoon batter into prepared pans, filling each cavity about 3/4 full. Note – I used a small measuring cup to fill the cavities. I wound up with a little batter leftover which was unfortunate but definitely keep the cavities only about 3/4 full. In trying to use up the batter I filled one a little more than 3/4 full and it rose up over the top. 

Bake for 25-30 minutes. Let cool in pan for 5 minutes, then turn out onto a wire rack to cool completely. 

For the glaze – in a small bowl, mix the powdered sugar with the grapefruit juice. Set aside. 

For the candied zest – in a small saucepan, combine 3 tablespoons of sugar with the water. Add the remaining zest and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low and simmer mixture until sugar dissolves, about 5 minutes. Strain. Toss zest immediately in remaining sugar until coated. Transfer to a cutting board and chop. 

For each doughnut, dip the top in the glaze and set on a wire rack, glaze side up. Sprinkle immediately with chopped zest. 

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Fruit and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

