Bacon and Cream Cheese Deviled Eggs



A whole new twist on having bacon and eggs. 

I found this recipe floating around on Facebook and, as usual, since it had bacon as part of it, I needed to give it a try. Luckily we had a little party coming up which made for the perfect opportunity to make these. 

As I may have mentioned before, making deviled eggs isn’t really that hard but it is fairly time consuming (my opinion) which makes it less interesting for me to make. But, we press on anyways. 

Quick thought around the actual act of hard boiling the eggs – sometimes there is an issue when you go to peel the eggs with the shells not coming off cleanly. Now I’ve heard that you are supposed to use “old” eggs, as in eggs that you bought a week or so earlier. That theory never held much for me as arent all eggs “old”?  I mean, by the time you buy them, it has been awhile since the chickens first laid them. But then I made these eggs. I had nine eggs in the fridge that had been there for some amount of time. Since I needed a full dozen, I bought more. This resulted in nine “old” eggs being used and three “new” eggs. Well, guess what?  Three eggs were hard to peel. Maybe there is some truth to the idea. 

For the rest of the recipe, I started to put everything together and mix it by hand but then decided to follow the suggestion in the recipe and I used my food processor. That worked great and it came out really creamy. I also chose to use the suggestion in the recipe and put the filling in a zip lock bag and cut a corner off to squeeze it out. That way is super fast and much easier than using two spoons. Plus, I think the end result looks better. 

Adding the bacon on top as a garnish was the perfect way to use the bacon. You could have probably been able to mix some in with the egg yolk mixture but I think the garnish aspect looks a little better. Or at least it gives you some kind of control over the final product. 

As for taste, they were good but personally I’m not sure I really liked the cream cheese in there. It didn’t taste like a deviled eggs. But everyone else like them. 

I made no material changed to the recipe. It calls for salt, pepper and cayenne to taste. I used a few shales of salt and pepper and a half a smidgen of cayenne (we have a really small set of spoons marked – pinch, dash and smidgen). 

12 hard boiled eggs

4 slices of bacon, cooked and crumbled

4 ounces cream cheese, softened

1/4 cup mayo

2 tablespoons yellow mustard

1/2 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce

Salt, pepper and cayenne to taste

Paprika

Slice eggs lengthwise and remove yolks. Add remaining ingredients except for bacon and paprika. Mix well. I used a food processor and it came out super creamy. 

Scoop mixture into a pastry bag or zip lock bag with a corner cut off. Squeeze filling into eggs. Top with a dash of paprika and bacon. 

Best if made and then chilled for at least two hours. 

This entry was posted in Appetizers, Bacon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

