Dutch Apple Pie with Oatmeal Streusel

IMG_0474

Lately I’ve been wanting an apple pie. Not really sure why exactly but the idea of an apple pie was very enticing. And, we have several bags of apples down in the deep freeze along with one pie crust in the freezer.

Since there was only one pie crust I needed to find a recipe for a pie that didn’t need a second pie crust. Which was okay since I was more interested in making a different kind of pie. Enter this recipe for an apple pie with oatmeal streusel.

And wow, this turned out to be a great pie. I can’t pinpoint one specific thing about it so I’ll just say that overall it was one of the better apple pies I’ve had.

The crust left a little to be desired (there didn’t seem to be much there actually) but that is understandable as it was 1) a store bought crust and 2) I had a brain lapse and didn’t let it thaw before using it so I put it in the microwave to soften it up. It worked but………not really. Overall there was just a great flavor (in my opinion) that made it a really great pie. The oatmeal streusel topping gave it a little bit of a unique flavor and gave it a nice crunch.

I started out the second round of baking at the 30 minute mark, watching towards the end as I was worried about the streusel burning. At the end, I decided that I would let it go for an additional 5 minutes (it said to bake for 30-35 minutes). The streusel never burned or even got overly brown which was really good.

This recipe is definitely being saved for future use.

This entry was posted in Apples, Pie and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dutch Apple Pie with Oatmeal Streusel

  1. Pingback: Apple Pie Shake | A Casual Foodie's Blog

Leave a Reply

