Herb and Garlic Bubble Loaf

IMG_0465

I had intended to make this recipe as one of my Super Bowl party dishes (and pair it with some marinara/pizza sauce) but some plans changed. I still wanted to make it so it just became part of dinner that night.

I was a little hesitant to make it as I have had some bad experiences making monkey bread and other pull apart breads. But, this did say to make it all in one layer so I felt better about trying it.

It came together surprisingly easy. I didn’t expect it to be hard but it didn’t take very long for it to form in the nice ball in the mixer. And then the rest is fairly simple. With the exception of needing to let it rise (twice) the hands on time is pretty quick. Side note – as it says to pour oil in the bottom of the tube pan, I wrapped the pan in foil to prevent the oil from leaking out and causing problems. Turned out to be a great idea.

I did wind up using a whole stick of butter, chose Italian seasoning and I used a teaspoon of garlic powder in place of the minced garlic. I doubled the butter as halfway through I kind of ran out. I didn’t increase the amount of spices as there seemed to be enough. Might not have been the right choice.

On the one hand, this turned out very well. I was very happy with how it rose up and baked. It didn’t get brown like the picture on the original recipe. It did share the oven with meatloaf for the entire baking time. I also turned the broiler on to brown it a bit but then decided I didn’t want to risk burning it so I stopped.

On the other hand, while it was good bread, there left a lot to be desired from a flavor standpoint. Maybe I should have added more seasoning when I added more butter. Or maybe it was something that should be paired with a sauce rather than just eating it (sopping up gravy worked fairly well).

All in all, it was a good recipe and something I’d probably do it again. I am interested in trying it as a cinnamon/sugar pull apart bread as I always have trouble with those but I think I could make it work with this.

This entry was posted in Bread and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

