Sourdough Pancakes

IMG_0457

After seeing someone else post about making sourdough pancakes I decided that needed to try it. So off I went, researching what was needed to make them. Long story short, I wound up buying not only some sourdough starter but a fancy crock from King Arthur’s Flour as well.

Turns out this was a little more involved than I had thought. That speaks to not quite understanding everything that was needed for making anything sourdough related. And, it also meant that I had to wait a week to actually make these. With all the feeding and waiting and feeding and waiting, I needed more time. So, in the fridge it went and then I went from there following the instructions to care for it.

To make these pancakes, I followed the recipe in the booklet that came with the starter. Technically it said it was for waffles but it “also makes great pancakes”.

In the end, I thought these weren’t too bad but they got voted down by the rest of the family. Then again, pretty much any pancakes I make that are not my “normal” pancakes get voted down. There is a decent amount of effort and time wrapped up in these as I am learning with any sourdough effort, or bread in general (especially yeast bread).

I’d make these again, looking to try them as waffles rather than pancakes. I did use actual buttermilk in this recipe. I also spread butter all over the griddle before making them as some other recipes I looked at made it seem like you needed to “fry” them. It worked pretty well.

I will say that it was a little disconcerting to mix up the “batter” (with the buttermilk) and let it sit overnight but in one sense it was a “dough” as well. But we didn’t die from eating the pancakes so, I guess it worked fine. :o)

Here is the recipe from the booklet –

Overnight Sponge
2 cups all purpose flour
2 tablespoons sugar
2 cups buttermilk
1 cup sourdough starter, unfed

Pancake Batter
All of the overnight sponge
2 large eggs
1/4 cup of oil or melted butter (I used butter)
3/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda

Directions
To make the sponge – stir down the refrigerated starter and remove 1 cup. In a large mixing bowl, stir together the 1 cup starter, flour, sugar, and buttermilk.

Cover and let rest at room temperature overnight.

The next morning, beat together the eggs and oil or butter. Add the overnight sponge.

Add the salt and baking soda, stirring to combine. The batter will bubble.

For waffles, pour into the preheated, greased waffle iron and cook as directed.

For the pancakes, grease griddle and drop batter (1/4 to 1/3 cup each) on to the griddle. Cook for 3-5 minutes per side.

This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

