Cornbread Buttermilk Biscuits

IMG_0456

While this is yet another example of having to find a way to use up the leftover buttermilk, I will admit that I had this recipe saved, and saved for quite awhile.

As the name suggests, it is basically a cornbread biscuit. It has a different ratio of the wet and dry liquids to be able to roll it out and cut it.

I opted to cut the recipe in half as I decided we didn’t need 12 biscuits. I was afraid that we would wind up tossing some because they would sit and not get eaten. However, even with cutting the recipe in half, I still managed to get 12 biscuits out of it. I’m still a little confused about that. My biscuit cutter was the right size (even a little bigger at 2 1/8″) and I didn’t feel like I had spread the dough out too much. But maybe I did. Making the dough thinner than what it called for is the only thing I can think of that would have allowed me to have more with less dough.

But they still baked fine in the allotted time (no burning because they were smaller/thinner). And they tasted pretty good. I chose to add some cheese to the mix as well. It was so/so. Not bad by any means but I don’t think it added enough to say you definitely should add the cheese.

This entry was posted in Bread, Side Dishes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

