Blueberry Buttermilk Pancakes

2015/01/img_0454.jpg

Normally when I go to make something that calls for buttermilk I substitute sour milk (lemon juice/milk mix) as I feel like I would always be tossing the leftover buttermilk as I’d just never use it all and, well, that seems pretty wasteful. But, for some reason I decided that I would buy actual buttermilk to make chicken tetrazzini awhile back. Which, of course, led to having leftover buttermilk.

What to do, what to do? Make pancakes of course. That was the first thing that popped into my head and it also seemed like the easiest. And, earlier in the week, I had randomly picked up some blueberries which made this decision even easier. After doing some searching, I settled on this recipe. I use a lot of different websites and blogs for my inspiration but I am a little partial to The Food Network.

But, on to the pancakes! These were great. Different from my normal pancakes (you could just tell with how they looked after cooking) but a big hit at our house. I will say that had I not had the actual buttermilk, I wouldn’t have made these. They would not have turned out the same.

The only downside was that we were almost out of syrup. That has nothing to do with the recipe but I like my pancakes swimming in syrup so by the time I got the syrup…….not much left. The recipe does mention the use of the whipped cream, as you can see I did use. Not so much to make up for the lack of syrup but it’s just a fun thing to do once and awhile.

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Fruit and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

