Bean Dip

2015/01/img_0451.jpg

This recipe is from my dad. It was/is usually something made on New Year’s Eve and other get togethers. I’ve had this in mind to make for the last few parties we’ve gone to but in the end we have always settled on making something else. So this last Sunday I was determined to make it (football games to watch) even if it was just me eating it. So I did.

It was fantastic as always. One thing I’ll point out is that while there is a recipe it is, to a degree, a recipe to adjust to your liking. You can certainly add more or less of something if you like without messing up the overall recipe. I have been meaning to tweak the recipe so it uses two full pounds of meat, mostly because we get our hamburger in nice one pound packages so to use only half of one creates a problem. Yes, I realize that I could use it for something else but it is simpler to use one or two pounds. Also, now that I read back through all this I think I forgot to add the chili powder. Certainly tasted without it, if I did in fact, leave it out. Again, add more leave out whatever. Make it your own. And then there was the cheese whiz. I could only find a 15 oz jar so I used about half of it. Using more ground beef would allow for more cheese whiz.

1 1/2 pound ground beef
1 small onion, diced
1/4 teaspoon chili powder
8 ounces cheese whiz
2 cans dark red kidney beans, drained

Brown beef, adding onions and chili powder toward the end. Cook until onions are soft. Drain liquid if needed. Add the beans and cheese whiz. Stir to combine and cook until heated through.

Serve with round corn tortilla chips. (You could use others but that’s what we use).

This entry was posted in Appetizers, Beef and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

