Chocolate Mint Thumbprint Cookies

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/5d7/43813965/files/2015/01/img_0445.jpg

Thank goodness for another holiday family party to allow me to make a couple more dessert recipes I had saved and get them cleaned out from my stack. Once again I was over ambitious in trying to make all these cookies and whatnot and it just got away from me. Maybe next year I’ll be able to tame it a little bit.

But on to these cookies. This was one I really wanted to make and one of the more ambitious cookies I had on my list given the previous struggles with cookies this year (see previous posts). But I must say that they turned out pretty darn good. Both from a cookie standpoint and from an overall presentation standpoint.

And given the past struggles, I’m not sure that I did anything different in making these. Maybe the butter wasn’t as soft, maybe they firmed up better in the fridge this time. Anyway you look at it, the cookies did not spread out like the others and the thumbprint holes kept their shape (for the most part). Speaking of the holes, I did manage to put one pan in the oven without first putting a hole in it. When I made the hole after they came out I felt it worked pretty well but after they cooled I was not as happy with those holes as I was with the holes in the others.

I also found that the holes were only big enough to fit about 1/2 to 3/4 of a teaspoon of chocolate rather than a full teaspoon. Which worked out okay anyway, especially when the chocolate will spill out a bit when you put the mint in it.

For the mint I used an Andes mint that I cut in half on the diagonal. Not quite as fancy as the green mint in the picture on the recipe but it worked just fine.

All in all this was a good cookie. The mint was just right, not too strong, not too weak where you didn’t taste it. The presentation turned out really well. Definitely a keeper.

This entry was posted in Chocolate, Cookies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

