Kahwaji Hummus

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/5d7/43813965/files/2014/12/img_0441.jpg

The last time I made hummus, I had a few issues. I never got it to be really smooth as the food processor motor finally gave up (it wasn’t working that well anyway) and I tried using a stick blender to finish it off. Plus it was just a random recipe that I had found and was adjusting based on the quantities I had. It turned out ok. Not fantastic, but pretty decent.

Afterwards a friend from church gave me their recipe, one he had tweaked and adjusted until he got it the way he liked it. This is that recipe. I’ll admit that I tweaked it just a little bit, using the whole 5.3 ounce container of yogurt and I don’t think my jalapeños were pickled, just in a jar (and labeled “hot”). Plus I have gotten a new food chopper/processor and it worked fantastically to make this.

While I didn’t eat a lot of it after making it (made it to save for New Year’s Eve), I did try some and thought it was great. Much, much better than the last one I made and much better than anything else I’ve had. Although to be honest, I never was a big fan of hummus but more recently ate quite a bit and now have decided that it’s a nice snack once and awhile. It does have a bit of a kick to it, thanks to the jalapeño. For me it’s not too bad. You could always adjust that part of you’re not into spicy (or add more if you are).

Here is the recipe as provided to me.

1 (1 pound) can chickpeas, drained and liquid reserved
1/4 cup tahini
1 clove garlic (I used 3 really small ones)
1/2 tsp salt
1 tbsp cumin
1/2 cup greek yogurt
1/4 cup pine nuts
2 tbsp olive oil
4-5 pickled jalapeño slices
2 tbsp jalapeño juice from the jar

Sauté pine nuts in the olive oil. Combine all ingredients, including the olive oil you just sautéed with) in a food processor. Process until smooth. Add some of the liquid from the beans to reach your desired consistency. I added about 6 tablespoons of the liquid.

This entry was posted in Appetizers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

