Mexican Tortilla Casserole

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/5d7/43813965/files/2014/12/img_0439.jpg

I found the inspiration for this dish on Facebook with one of those recipes that is written out and shared all over the place. I say inspiration as while I did follow the basic structure of what they were suggesting I did wind up making it my own. The recipe called for rice, which I left out (I forgot about it) and I wound up using more corn, salsa and cheese than it had called for.

I think that it turned out really great. Then again, I’m a sucker for most Mexican food. I may have liked it no matter what. The only downside was that some of the tortillas are a little soggy when reheating the leftovers. Also, this said one of the pans you could use was a springform pan, which I did, but I used the springform pan I have that is a silicone wrap (works great actually as a springform pan). The problem there? The silicone is now stained red given everything that went into this dish. The upside is that the tortillas fit perfectly in the pan (8″ tortilla in a 9″ springform pan). I would find another dish if I were to make this again. And, while I think the idea of the springform pan was that you could take the sides off to look at the casserole, when I started to take the sides off things started to fall out and I had to put it back together.

Here is the recipe that I used.

5 (8″) flour tortillas
1 lb ground beef
1/2 cup diced red onion (you can use regular onion)
1 pkg taco seasoning
4 cups shredded taco cheese (shredded cheese with seasoning)
1 can refried beans, heated
1 (11 ounce) can corn with diced peppers (not spicy)
1 (16 ounce) jar mild salsa

Spray the pan you are using with cooking spray (I used olive oil). Brown ground beef and onion, drain if necessary. Add the taco seasoning and cook as directed. Lay 1 tortilla on the bottom of the pan. Spread about 1/4 of the refried beans on it. Top with 1/3 of the meat and sprinkle a 1/2 cup of cheese on top. Lay a second tortilla on it and spread 1/4 of the refried beans and 1/2 the salsa, corn and 1 cup of cheese. Lay a third tortilla on and cover it with 1/4 of the beans, 1/3 of the meat and 1/2 cup of cheese. Lay a fourth tortilla on and cover it with the remaining ingredients, saving 1 cup if cheese for later use.

Lay a fifth tortilla on top. Cover with foil and back for 40 minutes at 350*. Remove foil, sprinkle remaining cheese on top and bake for 10 more minutes. Let cool about 10 minutes before cutting. Serve with your choice of extra toppings, I went with shredded lettuce and sour cream.

This entry was posted in Beef, Casserole and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

