Honey Wheat Bread, Take 2

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/5d7/43813965/files/2014/12/img_0440.jpg

This is the second time I’ve made this bread and I think I might be getting the hang of making it. You can read the first post here. As I mentioned in that post, the friend who I got the recipe from likes to double the amount of honey as they like a sweeter bread. The first time I made it I put in the regular amount of honey. This go around I tried it with doubling the amount of honey.

The bread is definitely sweeter. I could really taste the honey in it. However, the jury is still out on whether or not I like it this way. There is a definite sweetness to it which is nice but I wonder if it would get to be too much when eating a sandwich or something else.

I did have to make one small tweak on this recipe and that was adding a little white flour to make a full two cups of the wheat flour. I had not realized I was almost out of wheat flour when I started. But it worked fine. I also realized, in re-reading the original recipe, that you are supposed to knead the dough for 10-15 minutes. Yeah right. That’s a long time to be standing there kneading dough. And, I definitely didn’t do it the first time. This time I did it for about 5 minutes. Maybe I’ll work my way up to the full 10-15 minutes but so far, the bread has turned out to be just fine.

This entry was posted in Bread and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Honey Wheat Bread, Take 2

  1. Pingback: Honey Wheat Bread, Take 3 | A Casual Foodie's Blog

Leave a Reply

