Caramelized Onion, Gruyere and Bacon Spread

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/5d7/43813965/files/2014/12/img_0436.jpg

This turned out to be great. When I first came across this recipe I knew I was going to have to make it. After all, it has bacon in it. The best part was, that while I used toasted baguette pieces, I think you could use this for anything – random bread, pretzels, potato chips…you name it, I bet this would taste great on it. It just had the right combination of everything that made it work.

I doubled this recipe as I was taking it to one of the big Christmas gatherings and there were going to be a decent number of people there. That resulted in actually probably having a little less than 7 cups of onion (I used every last onion we had). But it still worked out. I did choose to leave out the chives. I had initially put them on my list for the store but they were out and I just never went back to check again.

I also baked this at 350* since that was what the oven was set for at my parents. I think it still worked out just fine.

Definitely something to keep on my list for future appetizers.

This entry was posted in Appetizers, Bacon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

