Baked Pumpkin French Toast

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/5d7/43813965/files/2014/12/img_0434.jpg

I guess I’m not done with pumpkin recipes. A friend suggested this recipe and I thought I should probably give it a whirl sooner rather than later. But now I’ve got another partial can of pumpkin to use up. You can read the recipe here.

This turned out pretty well. I maybe should have let it bake a little bit longer as the middle was a tiny bit undercooked. Tearing up the french bread was an interesting way to put the bread in the pan. I might have to try it that way when I make my normal french toast. It didn’t have a strong pumpkin flavor which was both good and bad. Good from the standpoint of it not being overpowering but bad from the standpoint that it didn’t necessarily taste like pumpkin.

The only downside I had to this dish was that the Struesel topping wasn’t very Struesel-y. I think the issue was that by mixing it up with my fingers I got the butter too warm so it became one big glob of sugar and butter. I just did my best to separate it out into sections across the top of the dish. Ultimately it was okay but again, is wasn’t like a true Struesel topping.

The original recipe states that you could use syrup if you wanted when serving. We didn’t, both the first time and when we had leftovers. I’m not sure what it would add to it. All it might do is cover up some of the dishes flavor.

An interesting dish for sure. It tasted good but I’m not sure I’d do it again.

This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Baked Pumpkin French Toast

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Cinnamon Streusel Pancakes | A Casual Foodie's Blog

Leave a Reply

