Candy Cane Blossoms

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/5d7/43813965/files/2014/12/img_0429.jpg

I have made plenty of Peanut Butter Blossoms over the years (one of my favorite cookies), including some this year. But I also came across this recipe for Candy Cane Blossoms, a similar type of cookie. It is the same in appearance but the cookie part is not the same, it is more of a sugar cookie and then, of course, it uses a candy cane Hershey kiss.

I’ll be honest – these didn’t really work for me. In fact, I made them twice. The first time they completely didn’t work. The second time…….a little better but still not that great.

The first time they spread out while baking way too much. Way too much. They looked like a nice little cookie but not for putting a kiss on top of. I’ll admit that the first time my butter was too warm to begin with when I made the cookies and then, as a result, the dough was too warm. The dough was also pretty sticky which made forming them into balls and rolling them in the sugar kind of difficult. So those cookies got set aside and plain old, sugar covered cookies.

The second time I made them I set out to solve those initial problems. The butter was not as warm when I made the dough. I added an extra 1/4 cup of flour to help the dough not be so sticky. And then, I put the dough in the fridge and it sat in the fridge for about 2 hours before I pulled it out and made them. Worked much better.

However, they still spread out. Not as much as before but still more than I would have liked. And then, even after letting them sit for a few minutes they were still warm enough that the kiss melted a bit. And then to add insult to injury, the last batch I took out of the oven hadn’t cooked as much (how does that work out?) and didn’t come off the pan very well. Those are still sitting in a container but probably need to be tossed. Way to undercooked.

In the end the taste was okay but it just wasn’t working out. I have good success with the regular peanut butter blossoms so I think I’ll just stick with those.

This entry was posted in Cookies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

