Apple Lattice Pie Baked In An Apple

IMG_0419.JPG

This was a pretty neat concept I came across, baking an apple pie in the apple itself. You can read the original post here.

I made one change and that was to use the inside of the apple for the filling rather than canned Apple pie filling. It seemed really wasteful to scoop out the Apple and throw it all away. Plus, if I used the apple from the apple, I could control what I mixed in it and not have who knows what mixed into the canned apple pie filling. I mixed a 1/4 cup of brown sugar and a teaspoon of cinnamon (and a little lemon juice as it was getting brown) and filled the apple back up. I still used a pre-made pie crusts do it worked well to get 6 strips per quarter of the pie crust. I didn’t trim my crust, I just molded it around the apple.

These turned out well but they needed to cook longer as I was using the apple from the inside rather than the canned pie filling. Also, there were sections of the apple that were thicker than others so those didn’t cook evenly. But, once you cut the apple in half and added a little vanilla ice cream it didn’t matter if there was an extra crunch here or there.

I think this was a neat idea but maybe not something that is really worth the effort. It took quite awhile to cut apart the four apples.

This entry was posted in Fruit, Pie and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

