Pear Chutney Bruschetta with Pecan and Blue Cheese

IMG_0415.JPG

A few days before round 2 of Thanksgiving I finally asked what, if anything, we should be bringing. The answer I got was “appetizer or dessert”. I had already planned on a dessert so I did some quick searching on the Internet for “Thanksgiving appetizers”. This one caught my eye. It proved to be a nice compliment to the overall meal.

I only made one change to the recipe (other than leaving off the thyme and chives – store was out of the fresh stuff). That change was using blue agave nectar in place of the pear nectar. I looked around the store for pear nectar and couldn’t find it. In fact, I’m not really sure exactly where I should have been looking in the first place. But, I saw the use of the nectar as more of a sweetener so my thought was the blue agave would work just fine. And I think it did. It did turn out to be pretty thick and syrupy when it was done cooking down but I didn’t see any problems with that.

I made this in the morning of the get together. So it had plenty of time to cool. I did warm it up briefly in the microwave to make it easier to spread on the bread but not so much that it was actually warm. I also just sprinkled the blue cheese and pecans on top after getting it all set up rather than measuring it out by a teaspoon per piece. It worked well enough.

This entry was posted in Appetizers, Fruit and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

