Peppermint Crunch Puppy Chow

IMG_0411.JPG

We are slowly turning from the fall type dishes (pumpkin) to more Christmas type dishes, although I just picked up two more pumpkin dishes that I might have to make regardless of when in the year it is.

Making this was something of a whim, as it is another example of needing to use up ingredients that you bought for something else. This time it was the corn Chex cereal. What do you do with the leftover Chex cereal? Make more puppy chow of course! This time I wondered if there was a mint version to make. A quick Google search landed me with this recipe and since I had everything, off we went.

I did adjust it slightly as I chose to use the entire 12 oz. bag of white chocolate chips. Therefore I increased the cereal to about 6 cups (which was perfect as it used up the bag) and the powdered sugar to 1 1/2 cups. I also simply crushed 12 candy canes rather than measuring out a cup. I don’t think it was even close to being a cup but I think it turned out fine.

Mine doesn’t look like the picture but, I also didn’t add crushed candy cane after the powdered sugar so all of mine is covered up. Plus, I used the standard red/white candy canes so I blends in more.

But none of that really matters. It tastes great and worked well to take as a snack/appetizer to a couple of dinners over the holiday weekend.

This entry was posted in Appetizers, Chocolate and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Peppermint Crunch Puppy Chow

  1. Pingback: Puppy Chow | A Casual Foodie's Blog

Leave a Reply

