Crockpot Chex Mix

IMG_0410.JPG

The jury is still out on whether or not I want to call this a success or not. I think I’m leaning towards it being a success although the cons outweigh the pros.

Basically this is a way to make Chex mix in the crockpot versus the oven or microwave. Kind of hard to screw up, right? Well…………….a couple of ways.

The directions I had said to “fill” a crockpot with Chex cereal (any kind), pretzels, nuts, etc. Then pour over the top a mixture of
1/4 cup melted butter
4 tsp Worcestershire sauce
1 tsp salt
1 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp onion powder
1/4 tsp sugar

Cook on low, covered, for 2.5 hours, stirring every 30 minutes.

Well, first thing was that I forgot to add the Worcestershire sauce so that affected the overall flavor. Second, when it was all done and I poured it out I learned that some parts on the bottom had burnt which ultimately affected the flavor even if you threw those pieces out. And third was the overall ratio of mix to sauce.

Here is the deal. In order to “fill” the crockpot as instructed I used an 8 oz container of oat bran sesame sticks, about 1/2 of a 15 oz bag of small pretzel rods and 7 cups each of rice Chex and corn Chex.

At some point I read the recipe on the Chex box and their recipe called for a total of only 6 cups of cereal (plus other stuff) rather than my 14 cups AND they called for 2 more tablespoons of butter. Right there you can see that we are way off on the ratio of mix and sauce. Plus, and yes I know there is a difference in an oven and a crockpot, they only called for baking it in an oven for an hour. Timing seems off as well.

But in the end, it doesn’t really taste bad. It doesn’t taste like Chex mix mind you but it has a unique flavor (hard to describe). So although the recipe has a few flaws, the ultimate taste trumps everything else.

But I won’t be making it in the crockpot again, if I do this at all again.

This entry was posted in Appetizers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

