Rodkal (Danish Red Cabbage)

IMG_0407.JPG

To go along with the Frikadeller (meatballs) that I made I made Rodkal which is simply cooked down red cabbage. I got this recipe from the same place as the meatball recipe.

This turned out very well I knew I was going to probably like it (I eat sauerkraut, etc.) but I really liked it. It is much sweeter than sauerkraut. Other than that, I’m not sure what to say about it. It just was really, really good. And kind of in a surprising way.

Once again, making it was pretty simple. I took a large head of red cabbage (the store did not have a small one) and chopped half up. I was going to do all of it (doubling the recipe) but decided against it. The pot I was using was not big enough and I didn’t feel like digging out the really big pot from the closet. Which reminds me, I should probably just did it out anyways…. Plus, making the whole head of cabbage put me in the same place I discussed in the last post with having too many leftovers and not enough time to eat them. As it stands right now, I think I’ll be freezing some of this.

As for the rest of the family, the one kid (6 year old) that was home to try this didn’t like it. The other kid might like it and I think my wife will as well. They just had to leave before it was done so we will have to test it out on them later.

All in all, I’m fairly proud of myself for these last two recipes (the Danish theme). Just wish I would have gotten to make the third one but that will just have to wait.

This entry was posted in Side Dishes, Vegetable and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rodkal (Danish Red Cabbage)

  1. Pingback: Brunede Kartofler (Danish Caramelized Potatoes) | A Casual Foodie's Blog

Leave a Reply

