Frikadeller (Danish Meatballs)

IMG_0406.JPG

While my heritage puts me at being 1/8 Danish (the rest is German although there was a brief time, when we thought a bit of Russian could be mixed in) I’ve never really thought about food from a Danish perspective. But when someone on Facebook shared this recipe, and then I found more linked within that blog I decided I needed to make it. In fact, I had planned to make this recipe for meatballs, a cabbage recipe (see next post) and a potato recipe but alas, once again meal planning got away from me. I planned too many meals, forgetting that we’d be out of town for part of the thanksgiving holiday weekend which meant that there was less time to eat all the leftovers. Sigh…..too many recipes, so little time.

In the end I made the meatballs and cabbage, saving the potato recipe for sometime later and paired the two with the leftover mashed potatoes we had. Still a rousing success but not quite what I was going for. And I once again tried to make a big meal with little prep time as my wife had to leave early to take one of the kids to dance class. Which meant they got to eat but it wasn’t completely done. One day, maybe I will learn.

But enough of that, on to the recipe. These were good but I might say that what really made it was the gravy. The meatballs didn’t “wow” me but I felt the gravy turned out really well and worked well with the mashed potatoes (but then, what gravy doesn’t go with potatoes).

The only changes I made to the recipe was that I used a full pound of beef with the pound of sausage. Not to get on another soapbox but since most packages of beef are sold in 1 pound increments, what are you supposed to do with 1/4 pound of leftover beef? I suppose if you make enough things that call for 3/4 pound eventually you’d have enough leftover to do something with but until then…….?

Anyways. Putting the meatballs together was easy. Just throw everything in a bowl and mix. Yes, I did use my hands to mix I agree with the writer of the original post, it is easier to mix with hands. I only used 1/4 cup of milk at the end to mix in. I felt like it was good enough that way. Frying these was interesting, at least from the standpoint that you are kind of making mini-hamburgers rather than what you might think of as a meatball. Plus,never though you can fit quite a few in the pan, it still takes awhile to cook all of them. I think I got at least 24 meatballs out of the recipe, maybe closer to 30. I wasn’t counting as I made them but I think I had 3 batches plus a little left over.

For the gravy, I followed the directions but then ended up adding between 1/4 and 1/2 cup of milk to thin it out. I didn’t measure just poured and stirred until I was satisfied. I could have probably added more but I felt a thicker gravy worked. And I had to do that as the the whole thing bound up into one ball shortly after adding the cream. Oh, and one last thing. The gravy portion calls for a tablespoon of beef bouillon. I wasn’t sure exactly what that was – if it was supposed to be powder or liquid. Anyway, I crushed up 3 beef bouillon cubes and added it in. Not quite a full tablespoon (I eyeballed it) but it worked.

This entry was posted in Beef, Pork and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

