Italian Sausage and Quinoa Stuffed Peppers

IMG_0402.JPG

I can’t quite remember how I came across this recipe but since I had some quinoa leftover from when I made some Spicy Shrimp with Quinoa Salad, it was a perfect dish to use up the rest of the box. It also helped that the recipe for the stuffed peppers was a Johnsonville recipe.

I’ve had limited experience with quinoa, mostly the last recipe I made with it and some other random salads with it. According to the package, it is a good substitute for pasta, rice, etc. and I would have to agree, at threats for this. While it might seem a little odd, it did work well in place of the rice. It was actually a nice twist on it.

And, overall, these turned out well. I did have a lot of the stuffing leftover which I expected as I only made 4 of the peppers and the recipe called for making 6-7. Since there are only 4 of us, and the girls might have split one anyways, I chose to not have a lot of peppers leftover. Which is fine as the stuffing is good enough to eat on its own.

I did choose to use just a pound of Italian sausage rather than cutting open some sausage and using it as the recipe called for. I also used a full cup of quinoa (dry) than the 3/4 cup it called for. It not only helped use up the rest of the quinoa but it also was easier to cook. The box gave instructions for cooking 1 cup and it was easier to do that than try to figure out the ratio of water to only 3/4 of a cup.

The top did get a little crunchy but that was okay. It still tasted good.

This entry was posted in Casserole, Pork and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

