Crockpot Turkey Chili

IMG_0400.JPG

We’ve had some colder weather lately which makes it very enticing to make soups and chili. This recipe came from a food group I belong to on Facebook. It is a little different than the normal chili I usually make but I like chili in general so I’m always open to different chilis. Plus, making this in the crockpot is easy and means you can have dinner ready when you get home.

I only make two changes to the recipe I have listed below the first is I had a little less meat than it called for based on the package size I bought. I also used two full cans of tomatoes. I didn’t drain any of the cans as there isn’t a lot of liquid in this and I was a little concerned about how it would cook down after being in the crockpot most of the day. This said to cook it for 6 hours which is fairly short when you think of being gone all day. Luckily I choose to make this on a morning where there was a late start for school and I could be home longer in the morning, which meant I could turn the crockpot on around 9 am instead of 6 am or 7 am. It was probably in low for about 7 hours and on warm for another 2 hours. Oh and I used a small can of tomato paste as I wasn’t sure what a “1/2 jar” meant.

It cooked down nicely and, while there was some liquid, it was pretty thick. If you like your chili with a little more liquid, you may need to add some water to the recipe. And although there were plenty of green pepper pieces and onion, you really couldn’t tell. It all cooked down and together nicely n

For taste, it did come out a tad bit spicy which shouldn’t be a surprise given the spices that went into it. The spiciness was good and bad. Good because I liked it, bad because it may mean I’m the only one eating it. Which may mean I need to freeze some for later.

Overall, a very good chili.

2 lbs ground turkey
2 green peppers, diced
1 onion, diced
1 1/2 cans (15 oz) diced tomatoes
1/2 cup salsa
1/2 jar (one small can?) tomato paste
2 cans kidney beans (I used light red)
2 tbsp ancho chili powder
2 tbsp chili powder
2 tbsp cumin
2 tsp salt
2 tsp pepper

Brown turkey. Add everything to the crockpot. Mix well. Cook on low for 6 hours.

Serve as is or with cheese, onions, crackers, etc.

This entry was posted in Soup, Turkey and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

