Zucchini Pineapple Muffins

IMG_0399.JPG

I made these on a total whim Sunday morning. I’m not really sure why, but I just decided that I was going to make zucchini muffins that morning. And, I made the decision late enough that I was pushing the time limits to get them made while having enough time to eat, get dressed and make it to church on time. The only thing I can think of is that I recently went through our deep freeze and found a whole bunch of stuff that was really old. That made me think that we need to do a better job of keeping track of those things. Which led me to think that we have a whole bunch of frozen, shredded zucchini from last year that we should probably use.

I had to Google a recipe for zucchini muffins as the bread recipe I normally use didn’t have a conversion on how long to bake it if you were to make muffins. Since it was on the Internet, I found this recipe for zucchini muffins with pineapple. Not quite the combination you might expect. And, if it weren’t for the fact that I had some pineapple (from a can) in the fridge that needed to be used up, I would have passed it by.

When the recipe first comes up, the quantities are for four dozen muffins. That’s a lot. Luckily you can adjust the number of servings and it will adjust the amounts of each ingredient. That being said, you probably need to stick with either four dozen or two dozen. The quantities for only one dozen, such as 1 1/2 eggs, may be difficult to actually come up with. So, I ended up making two dozen muffins. Since the pineapple I had were rings, I weighed it out and it was about the amount I’d need for this recipe but a little less. On the flip side, I had more zucchini than it called for as I had frozen it in 2 cups portions. I should have frozen it in 1 cup portions as most recipes I find only call for 1 cup. And, since freezing and thawing results in a lot of liquid being drawn out of the zucchini, it’s hard to separate it into two one cup portions.

Anyway, so I made two dozen with slightly more zucchini and slightly less pineapple than it called for. It still worked. These tasted good, especially warm with a little bit of butter. And you can’t taste the pineapple at all. My wife actually thought it was apple and others agreed that it could be apple if they didn’t know what it was.

The only downside to this recipe is that I only wanted a dozen and now we have lots of leftovers.

This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

