Chocolate Peanut Butter Buckeye Cake

IMG_0395.JPG

IMG_0398.JPG

If you have consistently read my posts, you’ll know that for awhile I was on a kick making lots of recipes from the blog Buns In My Oven. I kind of got away from that but this recipe – Chocolate Peanut Butter Buckeye Cake – has been hanging around for awhile. This past weekend I finally had a chance to make it. Not that I couldn’t of at any other time but this is a large dessert that needed more than just us to eat. So it worked for this past weekend when we went to some friends house for dinner.

Overall, this was a great dessert but if I had to pick a favorite part of it. I have to say the peanut butter frosting was the best part.

I had to post two pictures of this as the shot of the complete cake doesn’t do it justice for exactly what it is – a peanut butter cheesecake layered between two chocolate cakes.

For the chocolate cake I used a box (Betty Crocker, pudding in the mix). It turned out a bit crumbly which my wife (who is fantastic at making cakes) speculated that I probably over mixed it. I maintain I probably under mixed it but either way, I didn’t mix it the right amount of time (2 minutes). But the cake still tasted good.

For the cheesecake I wound up making it on Saturday morning which did not give it the opportunity to chill overnight in the fridge. Had I not been busy on Friday, I would have made it then. BUT, it still turned out well. After letting it sit on the counter for two hours it got about 5 hours in the fridge. The only thing with this that may not have gone well is that it fell after taking it out of the oven. I’m not sure why, and it was the whole cheesecake, not just the center. I remember taking it out and thinking it was rather tall (and if that was going to be a problem) and then later noticing that it wasn’t as tall. And, once I took the pan off, you could see in the sides that it had fell. But it was still tasty so…….?

For the frosting, it didn’t quite get made to the recipe’s specs. I ran out of peanut butter and only had about 3/4 of a cup rather than a full cup. Plus while I measured out the powdered sugar, in the end I added enough to put it to the consistency that I wanted it to be.

For the chocolate glaze, I chose to just melt it in the microwave rather than on the stove. I do not own a double boiler nor did I want to do a makeshift one. I didn’t have the time frankly. Plus, it said to microwave it to reheat it before pouring it on so I figured why not just use the microwave for the whole thing?

In the end it was a great dessert. I wouldn’t say that it was difficult to make but there are a lot of steps and, if you do it right, it takes two days to make it. Make sure you have enough time to do it, although mine turned out fine with doing it all in one day.

This entry was posted in Cake, Cheesecake, Chocolate and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

