Ginger Ale Glazed Wings

IMG_0393.JPG

I love my wings but most of the time I prefer to just eat them when we go out and not make them myself. Part of the problem is that I’ve had mediocre luck in making them, part is that they aren’t like those I get at a restaurant (mostly likely because I don’t deep fry mine) and part is that while I like my wings, a recipe usually makes 4 pounds. That’s a lot of wings.

But, last weekend we had some friends over for dinner and to watch some football so making these seemed appropriate. Plus there were plenty of people there to eat them.

I got this recipe out of a magazine, last Easter, and have just now gotten to it. (See comments above.) Sadly I’m not sure what magazine it came out of.

I must say that I was pleasantly surprised with how these turned out. Not that I thought they would be bad but it was a lot better than I expected it to be. Especially after having to make a change on how they were cooked.

The recipe called for them to be grilled and that was my plan, fitting it in with all the other stuff I was grilling. I had it all planned out but I ran into some problems with needing to add more charcoal and not being able to get it ready in time to finish with the brats and then do these. This is why, although I much prefer to grill with charcoal, having my dual grill (gas/charcoal) is great. Sadly, I’m out of propane. So I stuck them in the oven 400 degrees, bottom rack) and let them cook for at least 20 minutes. I’ll admit that I didn’t pay that close attention to the time as I was multi tasking with several other dishes. But it worked out great.

And the sauce tasted fantastic which in my opinion always makes the wing. After all it’s just a chicken wing. Can’t do too much fancy stuff with the wing itself.

Here is the recipe. I left out the red pepper flakes, didn’t salt or pepper the wings and didn’t use any green onions for show. Frankly I left them in the pot I used to make the sauce. Seemed easier that way. Oh and I used about 5 pounds of wings as the bags were about 2 1/2 each. But there was still plenty of sauce.

1 can ginger ale
3/4 cup honey
3 tbsp Apple cider vinegar
2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
2 tsp chili powder
4 pounds chicken wings
Salt and pepper
Vegetable or canola oil
2 tbsp butter
1 green onion, sliced

Bring ginger ale, honey and vinegar to boil in a large pot. Reduce heat to medium low and simmer 8-10 minutes until reduced to a slight syrupy glaze. Stir in red pepper and chili powder. Keep warm over low heat.

While glaze is reducing, clean and oil grill grates with a towel. Preheat grill. Season wings generously with salt and pepper. Grill wings over medium high heat until just cooked through, turning once, about 6-8 minutes per side. Remove from grill.

Add butter to warm glaze over low heat, stir until incorporated. Add wings and stir evenly to coat, cook for about 2 minutes. Remove wings, garnish with green onion.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

