Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Scones

IMG_0389.JPG

This is it! The last use of that can of pumpkin. I hereby solemnly swear to not use a partial can again…..until I find a recipe I just have to make that requires less than a full can. Which I have my eye one…sigh.

Anyway, if there was one recipe I was going to make to use up the can, I’m glad I picked this one. These were great. To be honest they turned out to be a lot better than I expected them to be. Not that I thought they were going to be bad, just that it felt like it was just “another” scone recipe. Which may have been that I was feeling a little forced to make something to use up the pumpkin. And not that I wouldn’t have made this at some point anyway, just that I had to make something.

But enough of that. I think, actually, what really made these was the chocolate chips that are added in. And yes, I know that the words “chocolate chips” is in the title but it was still an unexpected twist when you bite into it. The only changes I made to this was that I may not have had a full 1/2 cup of pumpkin. I eyeballed what was left in the can and decided it was close enough. I was NOT opening another can. As such I also didn’t have any pumpkin to add to the glaze. In the end, I think it was better without it anyways. I did add a little bit (1/8 tsp??) of pumpkin spice to the glaze to maybe make up for the lack of actual pumpkin.

And I can’t really take full credit for making these. My 4 year old did most of the work, including helping to knead it and roll it out. Speaking of that I probably could have added a bit more flour while kneading it. It was still a little sticky and they didn’t hold their shape as I tried to move them from the counter to the pan. But they still tuned out okay. As I’ve said before, taste trumps appearance.

This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

