Mushroom Asiago Chicken

IMG_0385.JPG

I’ve been slacking off a bit lately, not posting about all the stuff I’m making which puts me with a list of about 8 dishes to post about and there will be several more made later today. Time to warm up the fingers and start typing.

This recipe came via a friend sharing it on Facebook. One of the nice things about this recipe is that it is a “one pan” recipe. Well, except for the second pan (pot) I used for the noodles. But the point is that you can make everything in the one pan. And it worked great.

I had been a little concerned that the chicken, after being pounded flat, was going to wind up with some burnt spots on the outside but I was pleasantly surprised that it didn’t. I’ve had some issues with that in the past.

The only changes that I made was that I used 12 oz of mushrooms instead of 16 oz (worked fine) and I used more chicken stock instead of the white wine. It wasn’t work opening the bottle for the small amount needed, especially when it says you can substitute with the stock.

Oh and while not a “change” per se, I totally forgot to turn the burner on to boil the water for the noodles (I had been waiting for the chicken to be closer to done) which caused the chicken to sit and simmer longer, which caused any sauce to reduce down to practically nothing. BUT, it still worked out just fine.

And, if you think the noodles might look different in the picture, they are whole wheat noodles.

This entry was posted in Chicken, Pasta and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

