Flourless Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

IMG_0379.JPG

Pumpkin season is still alive and well although making anything pumpkin related post Halloween seems wrong. Then again, pumpkin pie is a staple at Thanksgiving which is post Halloween so it must be okay to make pumpkin dishes in November, right? Sure. At least that is what I’m telling myself.

But there is a danger in making pumpkin related dishes – very rarely does a recipe call for a whole can of pumpkin. Which means to use it up you have to find more recipes. Which may lead you to need to open another can of pumpkin because, of course, you now don’t have enough to make the last recipe. So you get more recipes. It’s a vicious cycle.

But, with this and two more recipes I’ve made (yet to be posted) I’ve used up the last of that can of pumpkin although the last recipe might have a little less than the amount called for. Time to step away from the pumpkin recipes.

But back to these cookies. These were both really good and not so good. I can’t remember how I stumbled on the recipe but the blog post can be found here.

They were good from a taste perspective but bad from the standpoint that I should have let them bake longer. I thought they would have been okay since I put them in an oven that had been at a higher temperature and I left them in an extra two minutes since they did t seem done after the recommended time. But even then they should have been in there longer.

They weren’t too bad when eating them but you could tell that they needed to be baked longer. The worse part was after a day or two in a Tupperware container, they were all wet and soggy. Kind of nasty looking really. So into the trash they went. Luckily the recipe only made a dozen so I wasn’t wasting too much.

If they had been baked longer I’m sure they would have been fine. As I said, they tasted good. Oh and the only tweak I made was using a little more chocolate chips than it called for as I didn’t have any chocolate chunks to push in once it was on the pan.

This entry was posted in Cookies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

