The Breakfast Burger

IMG_0353.JPG

On my most recent business trip, a long trip, I found myself in something of a novelty store one day while on an off day. You know the type of store – where you could see yourself buying a fair amount of the stuff because it is cool/neat/funny but in all reality you are going to buy any of it. I was flipping through random books and came across The Hungover Cookbook. Seeing as it was a cookbook, I was intrigued although I don’t really suffer from hangovers. And it turned out to be part cookbook and part “guide to assessing your hangover”. Which was a little disappointing. But it had a few decent sounding recipes, well, one “normal” and one a little different that I wanted to try. And it has an English flair to it as well, or at least it describes the recipes that way.

This one was the “normal” one. And while I get that it is made with pork sausage, and it has an English muffin bun and they tell you to make it for breakfast, there didn’t seem to be much about breakfast with it. After making it, I can’t imagine doing this in the morning, especially with a hangover. And, if you let it sit as long as they tell you to, breakfast becomes a late morning meal. Or maybe that is the point. You sleep long enough that breakfast becomes lunch and it works better. Anyway.

Overall, it wasn’t too bad of a burger. It took a little longer than I thought it might to cook in the pan and I had to cut one in half to check the middle. Which was ok as I was going to cut one in half for the girls. The only tweaks I made was using a full pound of sausage instead of 3/4 of a pound and skipped the chives. I’m not sure if when you put everything in the food processor it is supposed to turn to a nice finely chopped mix but I still had some decent sized pieces of onion. No matter what I did, I couldn’t get it to all chop up. I might have been able to do a better job with my knife, mincing the onion, and then mixing it in a bowl with a spoon. Plus that way you don’t have extra dishes to clean.

1 roughly chopped onion
1 tbsp ketchup
2 tsp Worcestershire sauce
1/2 tsp sweet paprika
1 lb sausage meat
1 egg yolk
2 tsp dried sage
Handful of freshly chopped chives
Ground black pepper
4 English muffins, lightly toasted

Combine first four ingredients in a food processor. Pulse until well blended. Combine onion mixture with sausage and the rest of the ingredients (minus the muffins) in a bowl and mix together well. I found using my hands was the best way.

Shape into four patties and let rest, covered, in the fridge for 45 minutes. (Note – I did not do this.)

Heat a non-stick skillet over medium high heat. Cook the burgers for 5 minutes. Reduce heat to medium and flip the burger. Cook for 5 minutes on that side. Reduce heat to medium low and cook and additional 3 minutes on both sides or until done.

While burgers are cooking, lightly toast the English muffins. They suggested the broiler, I used the toaster although it took longer to do it that way.

Serve each burger on an English muffin with condiments of your choice. I picked ketchup which was okay.

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Burgers, Pork and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

