Grilled Pork Chops and Plums

IMG_0352.JPG

Since I’ve made a commitment to use my grill more, just about any recipe that comes up that involves grilling I am electing to make. Although after making this, I realized there wasn’t a whole lot of “cooking” going on. It was more of simply making a wet rub and throwing some plums on the grill as well.

But, it was still something. And it turned out really good. For the rub, I elected, as (almost) usual, to use dried spices. Part of this was the need to do so (didn’t buy the fresh) and part was that all the dried spices made a nice paste which clung to the pork chops nicely. Too often I find that things are a little too runny and it can cause problems.

A few other tweaks were that I used boneless chops rather than bone in and the recipe called for nectarines. Although it did say you could use other fruit such as plums or peaches. I had intended to buy the nectarines but the store was out. At least, they must have been as the spot where the sign was for the nectarines was filled with plums. But it worked out. Also, it called for a little mascarpone cheese to be added at the end but I didn’t do that. Again, I had intended to do that but I made some recipes out of order which meant I used all the the mascarpone for something else. I could have saved a little but I didn’t. And, I think it was fine without it.

The flavors worked well with this dish. I was a little surprised at how well I liked the plums with the sugar and cumin on them. Speaking of, I just sprinkled a little on it rather than measuring it out and going from there. A bite of the pork chop and the plum together was great.

Recipe taken from the June 2013 issue of Cooking Light magazine.

1 tbsp chopped fresh thyme
3 1/2 tsp olive oil, divided
2 tsp minced garlic
4 (6 oz) bone-in pork chops
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp black pepper
2 ripe nectarines
1/2 tsp sugar
1/4 tsp cumin
1/8 tsp red pepper (didn’t use)
4 tsp mascarpone cheese

Preheat grill to medium high heat.

Combine first three ingredients in a bowl. Rub mixture over the pork chops. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Grill evenly on each side until it has reached the desired level of doneness. Let stand 10 minutes.

While pork stands, cut the nectarines in half. Combine sugar, cumin and red pepper. Sprinkle over cut side of the nectarines. Grill 5 minutes on each side. Top evenly with mascarpone cheese and serve with the pork chops.

This entry was posted in Fruit, Pork and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

