Creole Shrimp and Rice

IMG_0351.JPG

I am still working my way through the June 2013 issue of Cooking Light magazine. Seeing as how I started going through it, I should probably finish it although the recipes are not matching up with the time of the year but it’s been fun.

We don’t eat a lot of shrimp, the girls don’t like it that much (although they do eat it) and it is fairly expensive but on occasion, when I find an interesting recipe, I’ll buy it and off we go. I will say that after one time of buying the uncooked shrimp and standing there forever peeling them and deveining them, I will never do that again. Too much work, took way too long. Instead I buy the precooked shrimp and do what I need to do to adjust the cooking time. For this one, I pulled the rails off as I was running them through water to thaw them and let them go in the pan just long enough to heat up and get the spices worked in. It worked out that way.

The only other changes were that I skipped the red pepper and the celery and went with dried thyme (half the amount called for). The red pepper due to the spiciness and the celery due to what I had in the fridge had gone bad and I elected to not buy more. Of course I had found out as I was making the dish that the celery was bad so there was little opportunity to go buy more.

In the end it turned out very well. Not overly spicy and a good mix of flavors. The girls ate it although there was some complaining on the shrimp. The rice and everything else they liked.

Taken from the June 2013 issue of Cooking Light magazine

1 (3 1/2 ounce) bag boil-in-bag long grain rice (or enough of your choosing to make 2 cups cooked)
4 tsp canola oil, divided
3/4 – 1 lb medium shrimp, peeled and deveined
1 1/2 tsp Creole seasoning
1/8 tsp red pepper
1 chopped onion
1/2 cup chopped green pepper
1/2 cup chopped celery
1 tbsp chopped fresh thyme
4 garlic cloves, minced
1 cup milk
1 tbsp all-purpose flour
2 cups cherry tomatoes, quartered
1/4 tsp black pepper
2 tsp minced fresh chives

Cook rice according the the package.

Heat a large skillet over medium heat. Add two teaspoons of oil, swirl to coat. Sprinkle the shrimp evenly with the creole seasoning and red pepper. Add shrimp to the pan; sauté 3 minutes or until browned, stirring occasionally. Remove from pan.

Add the remaining oil to the pan; swirl to coat. Add the onion and next four ingredients to the pan. Sauté 5 minutes. Combine milk and flour in a small bowl, stirring with a whisk. Add milk mixture to the pan; bring to a simmer. Reduce heat to medium; cook 3 minutes or until slightly thickened. Add tomatoes and black pepper to pan; cook 2 minutes or until,the tomatoes are tender. Stir in shrimp; sprinkle with chives. Serve with rice.

This entry was posted in Seafood and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

