Sweet Glazed Pork Burgers

IMG_0349.JPG

I got this recipe from someone in an online cooking group I’m a part of, I think it is Edesia’s Notebook, but I can’t quite remember (sorry!!). I saved it such a long time ago that I can’t quite remember plus the recipe doesn’t say it.

But it sounded really good. A pork burger is a nice difference from a regular beef burger plus the glaze sounded like a nice mix as well. In the end the glaze was more liquid-y than I expected and while I got it to “stay” on the burger as I was grilling it, it wasn’t quite like a glaze to me. But it still tasted good, especially when adding a little to the finished burger.

The recipe is detailed below as it was shared. The only change I made was to go with all dried spices instead of fresh. I made the choice to go with the dried ginger and then decided that I should be consistent. Plus it saved a little effort from getting all the fresh stuff. And it worked. In order to do the dried spices, I cut the amount in half. Also, the pineapple was my own addition. It turned out to compliment the burger very well.

Oh, and this was written as 12 small sliders but I made it as 6 larger burgers.

2 lb ground pork
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 tsp grated fresh ginger
2 tbsp chopped fresh parsley
1 tbsp chopped fresh basil
2 tbsp honey
2 tbsp fish sauce
2 tbsp rice wine vinegar
2 tbsp soy sauce
1 tsp Sriracha (optional)
12 small slider buns

Combine the pork with the next four ingredients. Shape into 12 small patties. Whisk together remaining ingredients. Reserve half the honey mixture. Preheat grill to medium high. Cook patties 4 minutes per side, brushing with the remaining half of the honey mixture. Place one patty on each bun, brush with reserved half of the honey mixture.

This entry was posted in Burgers, Fruit, Pork and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

