Southern Creamed Corn

IMG_0344.JPG

This recipe, found here, was not quite a success. While in the end it tasted good, it wasn’t very much like creamed corn. More just like some corn that had been cooked in bacon grease (YUM!) and heavy cream.

When I think about creamed corn the first thing I think of is what comes out of a can and this just wasn’t it. Now, as I mentioned before, it still tastes good so this was okay. Besides, I’m the only one that likes creamed corn so the fact that it didn’t turn out like true creamed corn was ok.

The only thing I did different was I cut the recipe in half. Again, I was potentially the only one who was going to like it and, I was leaving shortly for a business trip and we didn’t need a lot of food laying around that wasn’t going to be eaten.

Using the fresh corn and cutting the kernels off was interesting as it was hard to keep the knife in the same spot as you cut downwards. As a result, I had varying sizes of kernels. And then, using the back of the knife to push out the juices really didn’t work that well. Not much came out. And I don’t know if it was because I was doing it wrong or if there just wasn’t much to come out. I did choose to make this at the end of the sweet corn season so maybe it wasn’t as good.

Anyway, it was a nice try. Good dish, just didn’t equal what I thought it would be.

This entry was posted in Side Dishes, Vegetable and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Southern Creamed Corn

  1. Deabba Schroeder says:

    Set the ear of corn in a tube pan and it is easier to cut the kernels off

Leave a Reply

