Honey Lime Chicken Kabobs

IMG_0343.JPG

This was a nice and easy (relatively quick) meal to make one a weeknight. Since I had thawed some frozen chicken breasts earlier in the week for this purpose it was even quicker as I didn’t have to take care of that.

I estimated about a pound of meat and after cutting it got three reasonably sized kabobs out of it which worked well for the girls to split one. I also chose to grill these instead of using the broiler. Despite having a pretty nice grill I do not use it as much as I should and I’m trying to use it more. Plus, it was a really nice day when I made these so it worked well.

The only change to the recipe was using a teaspoon of garlic powder in place of the 2 teaspoons of minced. I did it mostly because it was quicker – one less thing to wash, etc. but in the end I found that it worked better as it helped create more of a paste that stuck to the chicken. And I did use a real lime for the zest and the juice. In fact, I just used the juice from the lime without measuring. It looked like it was about the right amount and I think it was fine once everything was mixed in.

For that sauce I just spooned it over the kabobs (both sides) and, on mine, I sprinkled some more chili powder. It was pretty good. The chili powder on the mango was interesting. It was good and not overpowering.

Definitely something to make again. And something that is pretty easy to make in mass quantities.

Recipe from the June 2013 issue of Cooking Light magazine

1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into 1 inch cubes
2 tsp grated lime rind
2 tsp mined garlic
1 tsp chili powder
1/4 tsp salt
2 tbsp lime juice
1 tbsp honey
2 sliced and peeled mangoes
Chili powder for sprinkling (optional)

Preheat broiler (or grill) to high. Combine the first five ingredients; toss to coat. Thread the chicken on to skewers. Broil/grill for about 4 minutes per side or until done.

Combine lime juice and honey; stir with a whisk. Arrange kabobs and mango on a platter and drizzle with the honey mixture. Sprinkle with chili powder, if desired.

This entry was posted in Chicken, Fruit and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

