Curried Pork Salad Wraps

IMG_0339.JPG

I realized one day recently that I had kind of “run out” of main dish recipes that I had saved on my phone/tablet so I had to go “old school” and pull out a magazine to get some more recipes. The magazine I pulled out was the June 2013 issue of Cooking Light. That’s right – more than a year old. Which might get you thinking, “so what”? BUT, I had never read it. Not even opened it. Which just furthers my comments on how I have recipes “piled up”.

But anyway. I found a couple recipes to start with, this being one of them. My only hesitation in making it was the potential spiciness but I thought there would be enough other stuff in it to balance it out. So I went for it. In the end, it was really good just a little kick to work through although neither of the girls really liked it. But that’s ok.

In making it, I went with one tenderloin out of the package of two that I bought. It resulted in it being a little bit more than a pound of meat but preferred that to the prospect of having a little left over. To make up for the extra meat, I increased the mayo and yogurt to a quarter cup. I left the amount of curry the same.

In putting them together I used some romaine lettuce in place of the butter lettuce and used plain flour tortillas. And, although I really don’t like tomatoes (just eating them) I did put them on the one I made to try it out. Not bad but every couple of bites there was a big tomato taste. Not great. But overall, a good wrap. And pretty quick to out together. Just have to cook the pork. Which, you could probably do ahead of time.

2 TSP olive oil
1 (1 pound) pork tenderloin, trimmed and cut into bite sized pieces
2 TSP curry powder
1/2 TSP salt
1/4 cup chopped celery
1/4 cup pistachios, shelled
1/4 cup raisins
3 TBSP plain yogurt
3 TBSP mayo
4 lavash flatbreads (or tortillas)
8 butter lettuce leaves
12 slices tomato

In a large skillet, heat oil and add pork, curry powder and salt. Sauté until done. Let cool slightly. In a bowl, mix celery, pistachios, raisins, yogurt and mayo. Add in cooled pork mixture.

Top each bread with two lettuce leaves, three tomato slices and about 3/4 cup of the pork mixture. Leave about 1/2 inch border around the edges. Roll up wraps and cut diagonally.

This entry was posted in Pork and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

