Lemon Puppy Chow

IMG_0337.JPG

**Not actual dog food.**

Quite awhile back I made some puppy chow with red velvet cake mix for the coating. Around that time (I think) I either read something or heard someone talking about making lemon flavored puppy chow using lemon chips in place of the chocolate chips. Sounded like a good idea to me so I set put to find some.

Which proved difficult. None of the stores I went to had them. Searching online found one place that sold them (Nuts.com) but they were sold out and I had put my name on a list to be contacted when they came in. So I did. And then it took long enough for them to send me the notice that I actually forgot about it. But I still decided to order some. They came in 1 pound bags so I bought 5 bags figuring I’d figure out something to use them for. Which means, of course, I have done anything except this. And even then I took awhile to make this with the chips.

For this I substituted the lemon chips one-for-one with the chocolate chips. Not sure that it was the best idea. The lemon chips didn’t quite melt like the chocolate. I added some extra butter which didn’t necessarily help either.

In the end though, I think it worked out ok. If I were to do it again, I might leave on some chocolate chips (white chocolate) to see how that would go.

It tastes good but you can’t eat a lot in one sitting. Not like the regular puppy chow with chocolate and peanut butter. The lemon just gets to be too much, at least to me. Interestingly enough, as I was trying to decide what recipe I wanted to use, I did some searching online. All the recipes I found said to use lemon juice and lemon zest. Which means I could have made this at anytime to get the lemon flavor. Go figure. But now I have some lemon chips to use for other things.

Below is the basic recipe I used for making it. I adapted the “typical” recipe leaving out the peanut butter. But I also have to say that I didn’t really measure much. I started to with the powdered sugar but I needed more so I just poured it in rather than measuring.

9 heaping cups of rice squares cereal (which means it was probably about 10 cups)
1 16 oz bag of lemon chips
A healthy splash of vanilla (about 1 TSP)
3/4 of a stick of butter
2-3 cups of powdered sugar

Melt the butter and the chips mixing well. Add the vanilla and mix in. Pour the lemon mixture over the cereal, stirring to coat evenly. Pour in to a paper (or plastic) bag. Add powdered sugar and shake well to coat evenly. Add more sugar as needed. Pour onto a cookie sheet and spread out to cool.

This entry was posted in Appetizers, Dessert and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lemon Puppy Chow

  1. Pingback: Puppy Chow | A Casual Foodie's Blog

Leave a Reply

