Seven Layer Salad

IMG_0334.JPG

This is another dish that I recall from my youth, most likely from a potluck or something. I can’t recall having much just at home. Anyway, it’s one of those things that you have fond memories of but don’t make much yourself. Or at all since I can’t ever remember making it.

I’m not sure what made me decide to look up a recipe but one day I went searching and settled on this one. Actually, the search was more to remind myself of what went in it. I wasn’t sure if/when I was going to make it.

In the end I saved the recipe for “later use”. When my dad’s birthday rolled around a week ago and I needed a few things to make, this was perfect.

I took a few liberties with this one, mainly in the quantity aspect. I used the recipe as a guide and eyeballed it. It probably resulted in a bit more than the recipe called for but it worked well. The only thing I really changed was leaving out the mushrooms.

A good dish, definitely to make again. But you do need to eat it fairly quickly. The lettuce does start to get a little soggy.

This entry was posted in Bacon, Side Dishes, Vegetable and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

