Salted Grilled Cheesburgers

IMG_0336.JPG

As I believe I have mentioned before, while I do like to grill, I often don’t post anything here because I don’t necessarily feel like I’ve “made” something by just throwing something on the grill. This recipe was going to be an exception as the Salt Grilled Cheeseburgers are mean to be grilled on a salt block.

Sadly, as you can see from the picture there was no salt block used. Not that I didn’t try. I set it up on the grill and warmed it up as I did the last time. Unfortunately, this time, it exploded. I’m not kidding. I’m in the house, I hear a fairly large boom outside and it takes me a minute to go outside but there doesn’t seem to be anything wrong outside. Then I decide to check the grill. No more salt block. I don’t know why it happened. It wasn’t wet. The only think I can think of was that I heated it too fast. But I wasn’t doing anything different from the last time (that I could tell). So I had to shut off the grill, clean up the mess and the. Figure out how I would finish dinner. Since, of course, the burgers are ready to go.

Actually, it wasn’t that hard to figure out. I’d just grill them lime any normal burger. But, I lost the salt aspect. So I decided to liberally coat each side of the burger with table salt and then grill it.

After that it wasn’t that much different from any other grilling. I did choose to put some cheese on, in the form of smoked provolone (instead of cheddar).

They turned out really well. I can’t say that I noticed a salt taste and don’t know if I would have had they been grilled in a salt block.

The only other changes I made was to use spicy brown mustard instead of just brown mustard. And, instead of making 12 “sliders” I made 6 regular size burgers. And I did still toast the buns. A little butter in both sides and a minute or so on the grill and they were good to go.

This entry was posted in Beef, Burgers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

