Pumpkin Sheet Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

IMG_0332.JPG

And so it begins. This is my first foray – this year – into pumpkin related recipes. And I better get on it. The recipes are stacking up and that’s in addition to all my normal recipes.

And Pumpkin Sheet Cake wasn’t a bad place to start. While most people who ate part of this called them bars (which they basically are) the recipe is for a cake and the texture is much more like a cake.

All in all this was a pretty easy recipe to put together. While there are a lot of ingredients (oil and sugar and applesauce and…) it is a pretty easy “put everything in a bowl and mix” kind of a recipe. Which was nice since this was the second thing I had made that night and didn’t need a complicated recipe to end my night with.

I did bake it in a 15×10 pan as the only thing close to a 13×10 pan was my 13×9 casserole dish. It worked fine.

For the frosting, it is a standard cream cheese frosting although I tweaked it a little. I decided, instead of using 6 oz of cream cheese I would just use the whole 8 oz. to compensate I used a little bit more powdered sugar. I’m not sure how much as I just let it mound up in the measuring cup as I poured it out if I had to guess I would say about a quarter cup more. It turned out nice but when I first started spreading it it wouldn’t really spread and it took off some of the top of the cake. But, once I added more frosting on the cake to spread around, it worked fine.

The “bars” tasted great and I liked the cake texture of it rather than a more dense bar texture. I’ll have to save this one for later use. I’m sure people won’t mind eating it again.

This entry was posted in Cake and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

