Quick Chili

IMG_0330.JPG

I used to make this all the time, at least once or twice a month but I guess I haven’t made it in a while as it’s never been posted here. Or maybe if I did happen to make it, I never chose to post it or always just assumed I already had. But searching the blog, its not there. My point is that I always try to post everything I make (of significance anyway) and somehow missed this one.

I wound up making it again as my wife asked me to since it is one of her favorites and we hadn’t had it in a while. I want to say I knew that but…..maybe I didn’t. She also pointed out that I’ve been making this for about 11 years which I found interesting. I’ve never given it much thought in how long I’ve been “cooking” (basically since we started dating) especially since the blog has only been around for about 2 years.

But I digress, again.

This recipe came from Men’s Health. I can’t remember if it was in a magazine or a book I had gotten but it was from them. Each issue usually had a few recipes that were supposed to be good for you in one way or another. This one was such, I think, because of all the protein.

Originally, the recipe called for ground turkey (due to it being lean, etc.) but I stopped using turkey and just use ground beef. I just found it easier to pull out a pound of ground beef that we already had instead of continually remembering to buy the turkey. Not that it’s a problem but when you have a half a cow in your freezer, it is certainly easier to just get a little bit out instead of buying something else.

It is super easy to put together and really doesn’t take long to make, hence the name “quick chili” or “five minute chili”. Maybe that doesn’t quite make it chili as it hasn’t simmered all day but it still tastes good and it is a nice dish to quickly pull together on a weeknight.

1 lb ground beef (or turkey)
1 15 oz can black beans, drained
1 15 oz can petite diced tomatoes, drained
1 15 oz can corn, drained
1 pkg mild chili seasoning (or hot if you prefer)
1/4 cup water

Brown meat in a large skillet. Drain fat off as needed. Add water and seasoning, stir to evenly coat the meat and cook for a minute. Add black beans, corn and tomatoes. Stir to combine and let cook for about 5 minutes or until heated through. Serve as is or with a little shredded cheese and sour cream.

This entry was posted in Beef, Soup, Turkey and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

