Ding Dong Cake

IMG_0328.JPG

This was another recipe that I hurried up and made on Friday night before I left although there was quite that much urgency in making this. More of the fact that I had bought the stuff to make it a few weeks ago and still hadn’t gotten around to it. So I made myself get to it.

This recipe came from Facebook, another one of those that someone posted and it kept being shared and shared and shared. You know the kind, the ones that don’t look like formal recipes and list all ingredients and steps in one long run-on sentence. I found it as someone I know shared it and saved it for future use.

All in all, it turned out really well. It does look a bit like a ding dong although I’m not sure it tastes exactly like one. But it is pretty good.

The only change I made from the way it was described was that I decided instead of baking the cake and then cutting the cake in half to stack it, I just baked it in two 9″ round pans. It seemed much simpler to me. I also didn’t use all of the filling. It seemed like A LOT of filling and I was concerned about how tall the cake would be and whether or not all the frosting would then cover it. So, I know have a container of filling in the fridge that I need to find a use for or risk pitching it.

I will also say that while adding milk to the can of frosting did make it easier to spread, I’m not sure it was necessary. I did make it so I could almost just pour it on and spread it around but then a lot of it did kind of run off and pool on the bottom sides of the cake. But that does let you scoop up the extra frosting later. In the end, it was a good cake, a novelty to try but I’m not sure that I’d make it over and over and over. Not that it’s bad, just have other things to make in its place.

1 box chocolate cake mix (I used Pillsbury Devil’s Food)
1 pkg. cream cheese, softened
1 stick butter, softened
3 cups powdered sugar
1 container Cool Whip
1 can chocolate frosting
2 TBSP milk

Bake cake as directed in two 9″ round pans. Cool in pans for 10 minutes then remove from pans and cool completely on a wire rack.

While cake is cooling, best cream cheese, butter and powdered sugar in a large bowl until well combined. Fold in cool whip.

To assemble, place on layer of cake on the bottom, cover with filling place second layer of cake on top. Mix frosting with the milk and spread on to the cake.

Store cake in the fridge.

This entry was posted in Cake and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

