Blueberry Coffee Cake with Almond Struesel

IMG_0329.JPG

I got a little ahead of myself this last week planning more dishes than I really had time to make before I left town, especially after a flight reschedule that put me leaving earlier than planned. But, I powered through it.

I came across this recipe for blueberry coffee cake somewhere and thought it was a great idea (who doesn’t like blueberries for breakfast?????). And since I had bought the blueberries I felt I had to make it, and soon.

Since the plan had been to make this Saturday morning before I left, and that was out, I made it Friday morning. I got it all put together in about a half an hour. So it didn’t require me being up super early (but really I’m up super early most days anyway) so it was in the oven around 5:30 am which was plenty of time to be ready for breakfast.

All in all it was pretty easy but there are quite a few different things you have to get ready somehow I managed to get 4 different bowls dirty making it. And I had to be super quiet since everyone was sleeping. That was a little difficult. Not that I make a bunch of noise cooking but I was trying hard to be very quiet so you tend to move slower.

The only thing I did differently with this dish, from an ingredient standpoint was I used a teaspoon of dried lemon peel instead of fresh. And yes, I know mentioned that I think I might move to more fresh than dried but two issues there. First, I have dried peel that I should probably use up. And second, if I only use the peel, it seems like a waste to not use the juice. I guess I could juice it and save it but……I don’t know.

Anyway, I used a 9″ round casserole dish as I didn’t have a 9×9 square dish. It worked just fine although it might have needed to bake a little longer. It is hard to tell if it was done with a tooth pick with the blueberries. It won’t come out “clean” if you keep hitting blueberries. But, after 45 minutes the outside was done and the edges were browning so I took it out. Still tasted great. The streusel was good but not 100% necessary.

A good dish to add the rotation.

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Fruit and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment