Lemony Lemon Brownies

IMG_0327.JPG

I’ve been thinking about how to start this and two phrases come to mind –

1. Too much lemon
2. You better like lemon if you are going to make these.

Get the hint? I don’t know if it is a completely fair assessment as I think the brownies by itself may not be that lemony but add in the glaze and it goes through the roof. The first piece I had, which is in the picture, I thought was really good but as I tried to finish it, it was hard to do so. It was just too much lemon. And, everyone else thought the same thing. Everyone ate it, but it was a lot of lemon.

Making it wasn’t too hard, although I could have done something different with the brownie part. The 8×8 pans I have seem a little worse for wear and I am always reluctant to make something in just the pan. So this time I lined with with parchment paper. It worked but foil would have been much better. With the foil, I would have been able to get it down in the corners easier and I probably would have left it in the pan. Instead I pulled out out to let it cool and wound up putting it in another container so I could pour the glaze over.

Speaking of the glaze. I used two lemons, both for the zest and for the juice. I think it gave me the right amount of zest and, in measuring it out it was just a little more than the amount if juice needed. What happened however it the end result was a pretty liquid glaze. Not very glaze like at all. So I added more powdered sugar until it was at the consistency that I preferred. Which wound up being the equivalent of doubling the amount of powdered sugar.

And then, to a degree, it was still not as glaze like as I might have though but it was ok. I say that since I then poured it over the brownies and a lot of it ran off on to the sides. Now, had it remained in the pan, it would have obviously not ran out but it would have been a pretty thick layer of glaze.

If you choose to try this recipe yourself, I would recommend starting the glaze out as it calls for and seeing what happens. Maybe it will turn out different for you.

So, all in all, it was a good recipe to try, something a little different but maybe not the best. But if you really like lemon, it may be the best thing you ever ate.

Lemony Lemon Brownies

This entry was posted in Brownies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

