Sangria

IMG_0315.JPG

A few months ago I made some Sangria for my sister-in-laws bridal shower. The recipe I used was just one I had found on the internet after Googling how to make it. Sadly, it didn’t turn out to be that great.

At that same time I had asked my parents for the sangria recipe that they had made (frequently, but not for a very long time). My dad got the recipe from a friend but by the time I had gotten it, I had already made the recipe I’d found. So I’ve been saving this recipe ever since, waiting for a good time to make it.

Enter my wife’s birthday this past week. With a few people coming over, this seemed like the right time to do it. Mostly because I wanted to make it and “clean out” some of the recipes that have been sitting around forever.

I’m happy to say that this sangria turned out to be really good. I’m not a red wine fan but even I liked it. And my parents, while they couldn’t really remember what it had tasted like, thought it was good. As did everyone else.

Due to the quantities involved, I pulled out a large (large) pot and mixed everything in there. Then it went in the fridge and was in the fridge for almost 24 hours. About 20 hours to be exact. I then scooped out all the fruit and stuff and transferred it to pitchers. I did get rid of the fruit although maybe I should have saved some for people to eat. It was alcohol soaked fruit after all.

5 bottles red wine (I used a cheap ($5 per bottle) Merlot)
5 cinnamon sticks
1 liter Sprite
3 oranges, cut in quarters with the peel on
5 apples, cut up in small pieces with peel on (I used red delicious)
1 large can sliced peaches in heavy syrup
1 cup sugar

Combine all ingredients. Mix well. Let sit in the fridge for at least 12 hours so the flavors can “passionately” blend.

This entry was posted in Alcohol, Fruit and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

