Buffalo and Blue Cheese Stuffed Mushrooms

IMG_0318.JPG

Here is another recipe that I made for my wife’s party, partly to “clean it out” of my stash. This comes from a magazine (sadly, I can no longer remember which one) and it has been sitting around since about Easter. Making stuffed mushrooms just isn’t something you make for a random dinner so I needed a larger party to make them.

Ultimately, I think these turned out very well. They had just the right amount of heat although some had a little bit more depending on how much of the sauce wound up in each mushroom. While you mix it up very well, I think the blue cheese, which has varying shapes of crumbles, hindered the mixing process a little bit resulting in some having more or less. But, it worked out.

I can take or leave the extra bread crumbs on the top (it does call for Panko but I used plain bread crumbs). It wasn’t bad but I think you could just as easily leave it off.

The recipe calls for 20 mushrooms and tells you to take two and chop them up for the filling. Simple math tells you that this then makes 18 stuffed mushrooms. Well, I wound up making about 24 and that didn’t include chopping any up and I still had some of the filling left over. I started out being a little picky on which ones I was going to use and had about 16 or so that were pretty good for filling up. So, I chopped up the stems from those and combined those with the onion (again, it called for shallots but, come on, using an onion is just so much easier). Those mushroom stems, along with everything else wound up being enough filling for about 24 mushrooms. AND, I still had a little bit left over. So keep that in mind when making. It seems a little goes along way.

Here is the recipe as written in the magazine.

20 button mushrooms
3/4 cup chopped shallots
2 TBSP butter
1/2 pound crumbled blue cheese
1/4 cup hot sauce
1/2 cup Panko, plus more for the topping

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Clean mushrooms and remove stems. Chop the stems and two of the mushrooms. Chop the shallots. Melt butter in a pan over medium heat. Add shallots and sauté until translucent. Add the mushrooms and sauté until soft. Remove the pan from the heat and stir in the hot sauce, blue cheese and Panko. Stir until smooth.

Brush a cookie sheet with olive oil. Arrange mushrooms on the sheet and fill each with a spoonful of the filling, letting it mound slightly. Sprinkle the mushrooms with Panko. Bake for 18-20 minutes or until the mushrooms are soft. Serve with additional hot sauce if desired.

This entry was posted in Appetizers, Side Dishes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

