Cheesy Smoked Sausage Stew

20140718-055004-21004948.jpg

I got this recipe from a guy in one of the cooking groups I’m in on Facebook. Sadly I can’t remember exactly who it was and the saved recipe didn’t include a name. My bad. But props to him for this recipe. It was great.

Pretty simple to put together. Just takes a little time to cook the potatoes and then making sure you’ve started early enough to also be able to bake for the 45 minutes. He mentioned that he often makes it in the morning and then bakes it at night for dinner. Certainly an option.

Can’t say for sure that I agree completely with calling it a stew as the end result seems more like mashed potatoes with stuff added in but I don’t know what else I would call it.

I did leave out the onion. Not quite intentionally. I had decided that I wasn’t going to put fresh onion in as I didn’t have any small ones and didn’t want to cut up a big one with no other use in mind. So, I was going to add some onion powder but then forgot. But it tasted pretty good without it so I think that can go down as personal preference.

I cut the sausage into pretty small pieces as I didn’t want the sausage to dominate the dish and had hopes it would all mix together nicely. Which it did. I also used a 2 1/2 quart dish (all I had) and it worked, it was just really full. A 3 quart, as suggested, would have been better.

1 pkg smoked sausage, sliced and/or diced
6 russet potatoes, peeled, diced and cooked
1 can cream of mushroom soup
1 can green beans, drained
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese (I used most of an 8 oz block of mild cheddar and a small bit of fontinella I had left over)
1 small onion, diced

Combine everything in a 3 quart dish. Mix well. Bake at 350 degrees, covered, for 45 minutes. Stir once halfway through.

This entry was posted in Pork, Soup and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

