Banana Bread Bars with Browned Butter Frosting

20140718-220053-79253179.jpg

Awhile back I posted about how I like my banana bread just like that – banana bread. Nothing fancy, nothing added, just plain old banana bread. Well, that recipe for Chocolate Cherry Banana Bread Muffins kind of changed my mind. So, when I found this recipe on Facebook, I thought I should probably give it a whirl as well.

Glad I did.

I liked the concept of them being bars (kind of like a Texas Sheet Cake) and the frosting added another layer that put them over the top. The recipe wasn’t quite the same as I normally make banana bread given that it had sour cream and butter versus just oil. Bit, we were making bars, not bread.

Speaking of bread. Since I had managed to run out of all purpose flour, and still determined to make these, I pulled out the bag of bread flour. A little reading on the internet told me that the only real difference was that bread flour has more protein. And, nothing said that I couldn’t substitute it for the ap flour, so I did. The end result was good. It was much lighter than the bread usually turns out to be.

As for the frosting – wow. Great stuff. Came together easily and spread out easily. Maybe could have used just a little bit more as it seemed to be thin in spots but overall it was good.

One thing to think about, that I didn’t right away. These may need to be refrigerated. At least from the perspective of the frosting. After a day of sitting out they had “melted” or “separated” a bit. They still tasted good and I wasn’t too concerned with getting sick from it but I think it would hold up better if kept cool.

Definitely a recipe to keep handy, especially if you need something for a big group.

Banana Bread Bars
1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
1 cup sour cream
1/2 cup butter, softened
2 eggs
3-4 ripe bananas, mashed
2 TSP vanilla
2 cups all purpose flour
2 TSP baking soda
3/4 TSP salt

Browned Butter Frosting
1/2 cup butter
4 cups powdered sugar
1 1/2 TSP vanilla
3 TBSP milk

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour a 15×10 inch jelly roll pan. For the bars, in a large bowl, best together sugar, sour cream, butter and eggs until creamy. Blend in bananas and vanilla. In a separate bowl, mix the flour, baking soda and salt. Add into the other mixture, slowly and blend for one minute until just combined.

Spread evenly into pan. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until golden brown.

Meanwhile, for the frosting, melt the butter in a large saucepan over medium heat. After it comes to a boil, let it cook until it turns a delicate brown. Remove from heat. Whisk in powdered sugar and vanilla. It will be thicker than a glaze but thinner than frosting. Spread over warm bars. (It will be easier to spread that way.)

This entry was posted in Bread, Cake, Fruit and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

