Liege Waffles with Nutella and Strawberries

20140715-182715-66435944.jpg

As I believe I have stated before, I am a sucker for waffles. The rating a hotel will get is partly based on whether or not they have waffles for breakfast. So when I saw this recipe for liege waffles from the blog Buns In My Oven (a new favorite blog if I didn’t mention it already) I had to make them.

Aside from the fact that I could make a medieval joke as well. A joke that I am still trying to come up with……. But I digress.

In short, these were AWESOME. I will say that the Nutella was a little overpowering but I may have gone overboard on it. But I’m also the guy that likes a little bit if pancake with his syrup so……..

They do take longer than your normal waffle since they are yeast based and they need time to rise. It did make for an interesting experience. While it was a little more “wet” than a typical yeast dough, it was certainly thicker than a typical waffle batter. Pulling it out and putting it in the waffle iron was interesting. Not bad, just different.

As far as the waffle iron goes, I have one that makes four square waffles and only has one heat setting. Which meant I kind of had to play with it for how long they needed to cook. The first ones I took out were maybe not quite done. And sort of fell apart. For the rest I would let it go a little longer each time and just really played it by ear. All of them tasted good. For batter placement, I put about 1/4 cup in the middle corner of each square. As my experience is that it tends to spread out I though that was best. It did spread out a little but not as much and we had more of a triangle than a square. Next time (oh yes, there will be a next time) I might just put it on the middle of each square. That might result in some sort of circle/parallelogram/trapezoid thing but we’ll see. And I’ll skip the Nutella for either just eating them or using syrup.

Now, for the sugar, I had to go on Amazon and order some. I don’t know about you but I don’t keep that kind of sugar laying around. Although now I do. I actually wound up buying Swedish pearl sugar instead of Belgium. Why, I can’t remember. It might have been a cost thing or the size of the bag. But, whatever. I don’t think it made a difference. And I did buy two bags, for, well, I don’t know. Some other use or just making more of these waffles. There is a recipe on the sugar package for cinnamon rolls that I now have to try.

Although the effort is significantly higher, this might be my new favorite waffle. If might even have to get a different waffle maker to try it out with. Or just add more batter to what I currently have to get the true square waffle. That would be the cheaper option. But not as fun as as playing with a new waffle iron…………

Anyway, one last note that this recipe didn’t make a lot of them. There was enough for us with a little bit leftover but certainly not enough to feed a big crowd. May be a good idea to double it. Worst case scenario is you have more leftover. Darn.

Go make these. Seriously.

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Fruit and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

